Beavers Aged 6 to 8

Beavers are usually aged between six and eight years old, though they can be as young as five and three quarters.

Cubs Aged 8 to 11

Cubs is the second section of the Scouting movement, originally started in 1916 for younger brothers who wanted a ‘look–in’.

Scouts Aged 11 to 14

The core age range for the Scout Section is from 10.5-14 and the Scout Section programme is designed to be delivered to this age group.

Explorers Aged 14 to 18

Explorer Scouts are young people, usually aged between 14 and 18 years old. They make up the fourth section of the Scouting family after Beavers, Cubs and Scouts.

Network Aged 18 to 25

Network is the fifth and final training section of Scouting, for those aged 18-25. The program involves a mix of activities from traditional scouting skills to more modern adventurous activities and social elements.

Scout Active Support Aged 18+

Scout Active Support (SAS) is the new name for what was formerly Scout Fellowship. It is a way for adults to volunteer some time to Scouting in a flexible way that fits their lifestyle.